Yukimi Annand Sasago

Author works

Kumoma (Through the Clouds)

Kumoma (Through the Clouds)

Acrylic ink, graphite and oil crayon on Rives BFK paper . 37x40.5cm, 2014

Biography

Yukimi Annand Sasago

Yukimi Sasago Annand was born in 1961. She grew up on her parents’ flower farm in Southern Chiba, Japan.

She studied communication design in Tokyo. In 1980 she took a lettering class taught by Akiteru Nakajima, a typographer and graphic designer. He introduced Heamann Zapf's works and she found pleasure in writing and drawing letters both in Japanese and Western languages by hand. With his guidance, she joined meetings held by the Japan Typography Association where she met many type designers and learned about typography.

Yukimi worked as a graphic designer in the 1980's in Tokyo. She did mainly visual and corporate identity design programmes . She left her position as a director in the prestigious Takenobu Igarashi Studio to come to the U.S. in 1990.

In the winter of 2000, she discovered the world of Western calligraphy, and has been fascinated by that world ever since. She took correspondence courses, workshops, and attended conferences along with weekly classes. The calligraphers who have inspired her most through their workshops are Thomas Ingmire (2006, 10, 13), Brody Neuenschwander( 2005), Gottfried Pott(2009) and Ann Hechle(2011).

After years of learning traditional Western calligraphy, she understood that she needed unlimited hours to master letterforms. At a certain point she began to ask herself, "What can I do with my love of calligraphy?" She set a new goal of combining the expression of the meaning of a text with her love of nature, merging the two into a kind of abstract art around 2008.

She has been teaching letterforms since 2003, and workshops related to text art since 2012. She finds value in sharing ideas with students. Her work has been frequently shown in Letter Arts Review and has been exhibited in the US, Japan and Europe. She is discovering her soul in letters and hoping to find her niche as a text artist who combines a love of nature and of letters.

САСАГО Юкими Аннанд

Работы автора

Сквозь облака

Сквозь облака

Бумага, акриловые чернила, графит, масляный карандаш, 37х40.5 см, 2014 г.

Биография

САСАГО Юкими Аннанд

Родилась в 1961 г. Детство прошло на цветочной ферме родителей, в японской префектуре Тиба.

В Токио изучала коммуникативный дизайн. В 1980 г. берет уроки письма у каллиграфа и графического дизайнера Акитеру Накаджима. Увидев работы Германа Цапфа, она понимает, что огромное удовольствие ей доставляют как японский, так и западный виды письма. Под руководством преподавателя участвует в заседаниях ассоциации японской каллиграфии, где знакомится со многими дизайнерами и непосредственно узнает о искусстве каллиграфии.

С 1980 г. в Токио работает графическим дизайнером. Работала над созданием визуальных индивидуальных дизайнерских программ. Получает должность управляющей престижной студии Takenobu Igarashi и в 1990 г. переезжает в США.

Зимой 2000 г. Юкими открывает для себя мир западной каллиграфии, который очаровывает ее на всю жизнь. Начинает посещать различные курсы, семинары и конференции. Огромное влияние на нее оказали мастер классы Томаса Ингмайера (2006, 2010, 2013 гг.), Броди Нойншвандера (2005 г.), Готфрида Потта (2009 г.) и Анн Хехле (2011 г.).

После нескольких лет изучения традиционной западной каллиграфии, понимает, что для освоения письма художественных форм, ей понадобиться бесчисленное количество часов. В определенный момент она задала себе вопрос: «Как я могу выразить свою любовь к каллиграфии?» И в 2008 г. ставит перед собой цель соединить два вида абстрактных искусств, выразить смысл текста и любовь к природе в едином контексте.

Начиная с 2003 г. обучает искусству письма, а с 2012 г. ведет мастер-классы напрямую касающиеся работы с текстом. Самым ценным в общении со студентами, считает взаимообмен творческими идеями.

Ее работы публикуются в журнале Letter Arts Review и выставляются в США, Японии и Европе.

Благодаря письму Юкими познает свою душу, в надежде занять достойную нишу среди художников, сочетающих в себе любовь к природе и буквам.